



March 17, 2022

Ms. Marcie Goodman, Executive Director Cleveland International Film Festival 2510 Market Avenue Cleveland, OH 44113

Ms. Gina M. Vernaci, President and CEO Playhouse Square 1501 Euclid Avenue, Suite 200 Cleveland, OH 44115

Dear Ms. Goodman & Ms. Vernaci:

As Cleveland area State Legislators, it has been brought to our attention that the Cleveland International Film Festival (CIFF) has notified the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE) Local 160 that CIFF would utilize non-union workers to operate projection equipment during the upcoming 2022 Film Festival in Cleveland, Ohio. In addition, we have learned that CIFF and Playhouse Square have been unwilling to negotiate this issue with both IATSE Local 160 and the North Shore (AFL-CIO) Federation of Labor. We write to strongly encourage you to negotiate an amicable and mutually beneficial resolution of this matter and reconsider your decision to utilize non-union workers.

The members of IATSE Local 160, who normally operate the projectors at Playhouse Square, are masters of their profession and their technical expertise is unmatched. As you are aware, these professionals were hit hard during the COVID pandemic when theater productions were completely shut down. As stated by the North Shore Federation of Labor, these workers are eager to return to work, provide for their families, and play their part in the 2022 Film Festival, a great showcase of filmmaking and of our region as a whole.

We support the working men and women of IATSE Local 160 and their professionalism. We therefore respectfully request CIFF and Playhouse Square to reconsider the current position of using non-union workers for this event and in

earnest negotiate an amicable resolution with IATSE Local 160 and the North Shore Federation of Labor.

Sincerely,

Michael J. Skindell

State Representative District 13

Janine Boyd

State Representative District 9

Phillip M. Robinson Jr. State Representative

Michael J. Skindell Philly Mr. Polinson for Thomas J. Cath

District 6

**Terrence Upchurch** 

State Representative District 10

**Thomas F. Patton** 

State Representative

District 7

Shayla L. Davis

State Representative District 11

Juanita Brent

Marto

**Kent Smith** 

District 8

State Representative

State Representative

District 12

Briefe Rose Sweeney

**Bride Rose Sweeney** 

State Representative

District 14

Jeffrey Crossman

State Representative

District 15

**Monique Smith** 

State Representative

District 16

Sandra R. Williams

Sandia R. Whys

State Senator

District 21

Nickie J. Antonio

State Senator

District 23

Kenny Yuko

State Senator

District 25